The raw gnocchi…

Pan frying the little parcels of goodness…

The final product with our lamb ragu… it didn’t last long…

I love gnocchi.

It’s one of the few meals I made with my Nonna, and wish I had learnt more of her specialties when I had the chance.

Since discovering my intolerance to gluten, it’s not something I’ve been able to partake upon frequently (it is also very time consuming, so even before then I didn’t make it often…)

I made a regular gluten free potato gnocchi a few months ago, and it was divine… I think it was actually better for the fine gluten free flour. Lighter. Softer. Like little pillows of deliciousness. Mmmm…

I came across this recipe for sweet potato gnocchi in the My New Roots Holiday Reader Recipe Challenge PDF download on the My New Roots food blog (an awesome healthy food blog I was put onto by a colleague). This particular recipe was submitted by Clare of the Blueberry Skies food blog.

What appealed to me (apart from the use of sweet potato, which I love!) was that they are cooked by lightly frying them, rather than boiling.

I’ve adapted the recipe slightly, just replacing the spelt flour with gluten free flour. While spelt flour is non-wheat, it is not gluten free.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Makes about 4 serves (depending on how big an appetite you have…)

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1-1.5 cups gluten free plain flour (rough guide, I ended up using about 2-2.5 cups, so have extra on hand, just in case)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cracked pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten (optional, but I recommend it to assist with binding, especially if using gluten free flour)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200˙C or 390˙F .
  2. Cut the sweet potatoes in half, lengthwise and place face down on an oven tray. Bake until soft all the way through (this was about 1-1.5 hours for me, I forget exactly how long).
  3. When the sweet potatoes are cool enough to touch, peel the skin, and any uncooked or brown edges away, and mash them thoroughly in a mixing bowl. The sweet potato mixture needs to be perfectly smooth, so you may need to push it thru a sieve.
  4. Add the nutmeg, pepper and salt, and mix with a fork.
  5. Gradually add the flour – and egg if you wish – mixing with a fork until a dough forms.
  6. Continue to add the flour until the mixture can be worked with your hands.
  7. Knead the dough several times on a well floured surface.
  8. Divide the ball of dough into quarters and roll into tubes with your hands.
  9. Cut 2cm pieces with a sharp knife (flouring the knife can help as well).
  10. Heat a non stick pan on medium heat with a little olive oil.
  11. Fill the pan with the gnocchi pieces and cook until golden brown on one side.
  12. Turn the gnocchi over and reduce the heat to low to cook them through without burning.
  13. After 5 or 6 minutes, check a piece by breaking it open and tasting it (you may need to “check” a few…) If the insides are still doughy, continue cooking. You may wish to cover the pan with a lid. Once the inside appears “baked” they are ready!
  14. Once cooked, serve immediately with your favourite sauce. We enjoyed them with lamb ragu.


