This is another recipe from the My New Roots Holiday Reader Recipe Challenge PDF download on the My New Roots food blog and was submitted by Jana of the Jana Round The World food blog.

I think it will become my own “Julie & Julia”-esque challenges to try every recipe in this collation.

This recipe caught my eye as I tend to miss out on baked goods, and love both pumpkin and besam – or chickpea flour.

It also made a good filler while I was making the time consuming (but oh so worth it) vegetarian moussaka.

I have to admit. These were not the most awesome thing I have ever made. They were interesting, and made for a good, savoury snack. I will try them again sometime, but might mix up the flavours somewhat.

Pumpkin and chickpea flour muffins

Makes 8 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 cups of grated pumpkin (the more pumpkin, the more moist the muffins. I used jap pumpkin)
  • 1.5 cups besam (or chickpea flour, also referred to as “gram”)
  • 2 tablespoons mustard seeds
  • 2 tablespoons flax seeds
  • 1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper (yes, this much, it does make them spicy, so if you’re not into hot foods, reduce the amount)
  • pinch of sea salt and ground black pepper to season
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder (optional, I haven’t tried this yet)
  • 5-6 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder (gluten free)
  • raw pepitas or sunflower seeds to decorate the top (optional)

Method:

  1. Clean and grate the pumpkin, then combine with the besam.
  2. Add the seeds, spices, coconut milk, oil and baking powder, and combine.
  3. If required, add some water to assist with the mixing.
  4. Place the mixture in a greased muffin tin.
  5. Sprinkle the pepitas or sunflower seeds on the top of the raw muffins.
  6. Leave for 1 hour before baking! (I’m not sure why, but this is what the recipe said).
  7. Preheat the oven to 200˙C.
  8. Bake at this temperature for 10 minutes, then reduce heat to 100˙C and bake for a further 20 minutes until cooked through.
  9. Remove tray from oven, and leave for a few minutes before removing the muffins from the tray and cooling on a wire rack.

As you can probably tell from the ingredients, these muffins are very spicy and savoury, making them a great, healthy snack.

The grated pumpkin is so bright and pretty!

Grated pumpkin

Before…

Pumpkin and chickpea flour muffins waiting to be baked…

And… after!

The baked pumpkin and chickpea flour muffins

