I’m a big snacker.

Apparently when I was little and our neighbours used to take care of me for a day, I would gradually eat my way through a container of dried fruit and nuts that my mum would leave with me (in between playing of course). I think this formed my snacking habit, and love of dried fruit, nuts and seeds.

This snack was recommended to me by my naturopath who admits she finds raw pepitas and sunflower seeds “boring”. I actually like them raw, but I also love tamari, so I love the idea of combining them.

They are great as a savoury snack, or can even be used as a garnish on a curry, or soup such as this leek, broccoli and herb soup.

What is tamari?

Tamari is a Japanese-style soy sauce, usually made wholly from soy beans, so it’s gluten free (whereas “regular” soy sauce often has wheat in it).

Roasted tamari pepitas and sunflower seeds, or “Pimp my pepitas!”

Ingredients:

  • Equal amounts raw pepitas and sunflower seeds, e.g. 1/2 to 1 cup each
  • Tamari

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180˙C.
  2. Line an oven tray with baking paper.
  3. Combine the pepitas and sunflower seeds, and spread them over the baking papered tray.
  4. Drizzle the tamari over the seeds. Try to make sure each of the seeds has some tamari on it, but don’t try to coat or soak them. I think I put a tad too much on mine… lucky I love tamari! 🙂
  5. Place the tray in the oven and cook for about 10 minutes.
  6. After 10 minutes, check how they are going and smelling. Use an egg slide to turn the seeds over on the tray, and cook for another 5 minutes. The time for these will depend on your oven, so if they smell cooked earlier (you know that delicious roasted nut/seed smell?) then remove them.
  7. Remove from oven once cooked and allow to cool, flipping as required with the egg slide to ensure they don’t stick to the baking paper.
  8. Once cooled, store in an airtight container (if you don’t eat them all first!)
