I mentioned before that I’m trying to cut down on sugar, and more specifically, dark chocolate. I love dark chocolate. It’s one of my weaknesses.

Thankfully, I’ve recently found a good substitute. This recipe was recommended to me by a colleague who knows I adore the various raw balls from Goodies & Grains in Adelaide’s Central Markets.

I’ve tried to make them myself before, but just haven’t gotten the specific ingredients, or proportions right. While this recipe isn’t a perfect substitue for the G&G balls, they certainly satisfy my cravings.

The original recipe is from the Running to the Kitchen blog, and it’s author, Gina, seems like a woman after my own heart, loving both running and food.

I’ve adapted the recipe slightly, and find it a good base to add your own “optional extras” to, depending on your own preferences, what you have at hand, and how you’re feeling.

Raw cacao biscuit balls

Makes approximately 10 bite-sized balls.

Ingredients:

  • 1-1 1/2 cups LSA (ground linseed, sunflower seeds and almond meal), or you can make your own by first blending your preferred nut/s
  • 6-12 prunes
  • 1/4 banana
  • 2 tablespoons cacao nibs
  • 1 tablespoon pure cocoa powder (either to add to the mixture, or roll them in afterwards)
  • Pinch salt

Optional extras:

  • Acai powder (e.g. 1-2 teaspoons)
  • Maca powder (e.g. 1-2 tablespoons)
  • Shredded or desiccated coconut
  • Flax seeds or other seeds
  • Chia seeds
  • etc

Method:

  1. Using a food processor or similar device, combine the LSA, banana, 6 prunes (to begin with), cacao nibs, cocoa powder (or reserve to roll them in after), salt, and your choice of extras.
  2. Blend until combined and it begins to form a soft dough (albeit somewhat crumbly). You may need to add extra prunes (1-2 at a time) to get to the desired consistency.
  3. Once you’re happy with your dough, roll into bite-sized balls.
  4. Place on a tray and put in freezer for 30 minutes to become firm.
  5. After 30 minutes, remove from freezer and roll in cocoa powder if desired.
  6. You can also press them into more biscuit-like shapes with a fork, or leave as balls.
  7. Store in fridge or freezer, and consume within 3-5 days (If they last that long that is…)
