It seems that “kale” is the new black. Pretty much every second recipe I am attracted to these days uses kale, and for a while it was a “mythical” ingredient.

I eventually tracked some down at the fortnightly sustainable markets at my local primary school. I swiftly bought two bunches, and then figured I should dig up one of the aforementioned recipes to use it in.

I finally decided to make another recipe from the My New Roots Holiday Reader Recipe Challenge PDF download on the My New Roots food blog; Vanilla Sweet Potato and Kale curry, submitted by Janet (check out the photo of it on her blog, it’s much better than mine).

I was unsure what to expect of it, especially not having tried kale before. But it was divine… my goodness. So good. Here it is:

Vanilla Sweet Potato and Kale Curry

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 500g sweet potato and 500g pumpkin (I used butternut), cut into 2-3cm cubes
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 415mL coconut milk (or 1 can)
  • 1 cup unsweetened soy or almond milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon chilli flakes (or to your preferred heat)
  • 4 packed cups of kale (washed and chopped or torn into pieces)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sultanas
  • 1/8 cup salted peanuts (for garnish)
  • shredded coconut (for garnish), I lightly toasted mine in a hot pan before garnishing, nom.

Method:

  1. Cook sweet potato and pumpkin in microwave on high for 6.5 minutes (or steam if you don’t like using evil microwaves).
  2. Heat a large pot on medium to high heat.
  3. Spray with cooking spray and add sweet potato and pumpkin, cooking until they begin to brown, then stir in the chopped garlic.
  4. Add the coconut milk, milk, spices, salt and chilli flakes.
  5. Bring to the boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  6. Mash the mixture with a potato masher or puree with a hand held blender.
  7. Add the sultanas, kale and vanilla, and cover again.
  8. Cook for 8-10 more minutes, until the kale is bright in colour.
  9. Serve with brown rice, and garnish with the salted peanuts and toasted shredded coconut.

I hope you like it as much as I did. I found it also went really well with When Harry Met Sally.

